Merkel Staff

Uganda Refuses To Risk The Health Of Its People For Financial Gain

13 March 2020

Uganda has chosen to extend its policy of barring entry into the country from people travelling from countries with high coronavirus cases.

Initially, Uganda had banned travel from 8 countries namely, China, Italy, South Korea, Japan, Germany, France, Iran and Spain. However, given the recent increment in the number of cases from other countries, Uganda has decided to increase the number of countries on its travel ban list.

An increase in cases from countries such as the United Kingdom, the United States, the Netherlands, Sweden, Norway, Austria, and Malaysia have led to all these countries being added to Uganda’s travel ban list.

During the announcement on Wednesday, Jane Ruth Aceng, the country’s health minister stated that, “Government has decided to ask travelers from the affected countries not to come to Uganda because the high cases they are reporting can easily be imported into the country.”

The rules of the Ugandan travel ban will apply to Ugandan citizens as well.


Bongu Simelane

Bongu Simelane is a versatile writer interested in providing you with honest and informative work. He is a crucial member of the Merkel and is responsible for creation and operation of the entire Merkel experience. All Merkel enthusiasts and users are invited to follow and connect with Mr. Simelane on LinkedIn, Facebook, as well as Instagram to get to know him further and communicate with him.